The Fate of a Pakistan Captain

by Devanshu Mehta

Returning to my obsession, here is the list of all Pakistan ODI captains since Imran (criteria: captained > 5 ODIs) with their fate. Forgive some oversimplification of facts in favor of brevity:

  1. Javed Miandad (’92-’93): Taken to the 1996 world cup to do nothing of note but break a world record, retired at the end of the WC and came out swinging against the administration.
  2. Saleem Malik (’92-’95): Banned for fixing
  3. Rameez Raja (’92-’97): Largely untarnished legacy
  4. Wasim Akram (’93-’00): Dumped in 2003, subsequently retired.
  5. Waqar Younis (’93-’03): Sacked after 2003 World Cup, subsequently retired. Only two years older than current captain, Misbah-ul-Haq.
  6. Moin Khan (’95-’01): Akmal’ed
  7. Saeed Anwar (’95-’00): Takes a break for his family, returns and then retires.
  8. Aamer Sohail (’96-’98): Match-fixing whistle-blower, suffers the consequences, retired in 2001.
  9. Rashid Latif (’98-’03): Serial whistle-blower, blew the whistle one time too many.
  10. Inzamam-ul-Haq (’02-’07): Post-2007 World Cup, quit the one day game. Left out of test side. Joined ICL.
  11. Mohammad Yusuf (’03-’10): Issues with the PCB, an ICL stint and finally a life ban.
  12. Younis Khan (’05-’09): Sudden resignation in 2006, reinstated later, resignation again. Banned by PCB in 2010.
  13. Shoaib Malik (’07-’09): Banned in 2010
  14. Shahid Afridi (’09-’11): Dropped unceremoniously from captaincy, followed by retirement until Butt’s resignation.
  15. Misbah-ul-Haq (’11-present): No controversies other than batting-speed. So far.
Previously on